Bee syrup

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Big ears

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
With the use of neonicatinoids licensed for sugar beet and the fact that most of the proprietary syrup brands use sugar beet as their source of sugar, am I better to make my own syrup from cane sugar?

honest question from a complete newbee 🤔

BE

With the use of neonicatinoids licensed for sugar beet and the fact that most of the proprietary syrup brands use sugar beet as their source of sugar, am I better to make my own syrup from cane sugar?

BE

Two things

a) neonics don't make it through to the sugar itself
b) you think that cane sugar is made without pesticides? In those highly regulated environmentally-focused countries like Brazil, India and China? Google "sugarcane pesticides"

Beet sugar is fine this question/concern has been done to death before and is not a problem

I’m sorry I was going over old ground I didn’t realise this.
thank you for your replies.

BE
I'd be more concerned about the stuff that could be in cane sugar seeing as it comes from countries with little regulation on things like pesticides.
let alone the environmental effect of transporting it halfway around the world.
And I'm sure there are a few other moral reasons for avoiding cane as well.

Once refined I doubt it makes much difference! Only use while refined sugar

White, not brown, sugar has been the gospel preached for many decades. Has there ever been a comparative study, or is it like many other gospels - blindly accepted by successive generations?

you think that cane sugar is made without pesticides? In those highly regulated environmentally-focused countries like Brazil, India and China? Google "sugarcane pesticides"
:iagree: