Bee breading

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Abba Bees

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
I was wondering the best way to breed bees, I am starting up, and been thinking the best and most productive way to breed bees to sell as packages or nucs, Any advice or ideas would be much appreciated

You need to read up on it....all I could tell you is what you could read about and that would seem a waste of time me typing it out! No offence but books can be the best place to go for total beginners. If you get any confusion or problems then by all means ask here.....
Trust you will understand!
E

I was think more about the most productive system to breed bees, like maybe pulling out some of the frames and making up new hives with them, to get the queens laying a their peak.

I was think more about the most productive system to breed bees, like maybe pulling out some of the frames and making up new hives with them, to get the queens laying a their peak.

Bees will "breed" themselves if you just want to increase numbers but if you want certain traits it's a little more complicated.

Contact local association and find out who's there most successful.
BTW what level of experience are you, so your no bombarded with basic stuff?

Last edited:
I was wondering the best way to breed bees, I am starting up, and been thinking the best and most productive way to breed bees to sell as packages or nucs, Any advice or ideas would be much appreciated

Don't you think you are trying to run before you have learnt to walk properly? As above, bees will breed well enough without much trouble as you might find out when swarming season starts.

As Russel, breeding is not the same as rearing.

As Arfermo, unless you are throwing money at it you will first need to know how to keep your bees.