HELP Do i have a queen ?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello everyone....

I am new to Bee Keeping and fear i have lost my queen, if i post a link to some pics taken today, could anyone give me advice on what condition the brood is in please?

Thanks

JohnnyD

jonny if you able check for eggs..... i have spent months looking for a queen in one colony but never see her but plenty of eggs so all is good.!

please explain more about your situation then i bet will get lots of advise :party:

Thanks for replying, I'm not sure if I have eggs or not, like i say i am very new, here is the link to the pics, these were taken about an hour ago. I had a queen, but I also had a swarm about 3 weeks ago, a bee inspector found about 9 new queen cells and left the strongest 3 intact, here is the link http://www.flickr.com/photos/62897391@N08/

The pics are good quality so can be zoomed in etc

Thanks a lot

JohnnyD

Cant zoom in quite enough but I cant see any capped brood in the pics. Why did the inspector leave 3?

Last edited:
i agree with Veg... also no ned for th queen excluder without a super on the hive if you do have a super i would be tempted to keep it off as the colony looks small.

when did you lose the swarm dont forget weather plays a big part in queen mating and resulting egg laying.

keep us updated

I have two supers on ATM as when the Bee inspector came round he said the hive was very busy 3 weeks ago, it seems a lot quieter now, shall i take the supers off tonight? The swarm was 3 weeks ago, i just seem to have a lot of empty brown cells ATM, can anyone deduce anything else from the pics?

Thanks

JD

Nice link, many thanks.....the problem is, i seem to be the only bee keeper in my village so don't have a source of test frames. ;(

JD