Newby from South Scotland

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rosco

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi

Total newby here. I have loved the idea of beekeeping for ages and I'm now hoping to get my own hive in the Spring.

Looking forward to reading and learning in the forum.

I totally love honey but thats not the main reason!

Cheers

Rosco

welcome Rosco - few bits of advice -
1)join your local BKA - hopefully they'll have a beginners course over the winter - this will set you in good stead for the spring and you will have knowledgeable people to advise you along the way and help you get your bees.
2) Open a separate bank account so the other half won't see how much you're spending on kit (also helps if you have an accomodating and discreet relative to take in all the parcels!) :D

1)join your local BKA - hopefully they'll have a beginners course over the winter - this will set you in good stead for the spring and you will have knowledgeable people to advise you along the way and help you get your bees.
2) Open a separate bank account so the other half won't see how much you're spending on kit (also helps if you have an accomodating and discreet relative to take in all the parcels!) :D

:iagree:

And you are very welcome to the forum - a lot of experienced beekeepers on here with a real wealth of knowledge, I've learned an awful lot of the past year here

... - a lot of experienced beekeepers on here with a real wealth of knowledge...

Some even who actually do as they advise ... Really!

Thanks for all the advice folks.

So far I have been to one of the local meetings and will be joining the association at the next meeting. They are running a beginners course in the spring and someone has offered to show me around their hives in spring too.