New starter

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

enigmatica

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
WBC
Number of Hives
two
Hi, my name's Nigel, we've a smallholding a little North of Narberth in Pembrokeshire. Many years ago our school had beekeeping classes (extra curricula) and my fascination began there. Now that the holding's nearly finished I can at last turn my attention to bees again. It was so long ago that I'm a beginner now. I want to spend my time here learning from you and preparing for a nucleus next year. My intention is to utilise the honey towards self-sufficiency as an ingredient and preservative.

Hi, things have changed over those 'many years' mesh floors, varroa, treatment and size and type of hives just for starters. Lots of reading up to do for you I think..... Looking forward to how you get on
Best wishes for the future
E

Hi, my name's Nigel, we've a smallholding a little North of Narberth in Pembrokeshire. Many years ago our school had beekeeping classes (extra curricula) and my fascination began there. Now that the holding's nearly finished I can at last turn my attention to bees again. It was so long ago that I'm a beginner now. I want to spend my time here learning from you and preparing for a nucleus next year. My intention is to utilise the honey towards self-sufficiency as an ingredient and preservative.

Hi and welcome ... my dad kept bees and taught rural studies to school children which included beekeeping ... I came to beekeeping after a 40+ year gap ... all changed but the basics are still the same. Best of luck with your smallholding.