Lighting a Smoker in the Open

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andycadman

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
So far in my experience of beekeeping I have bee able to light up the smoker easily. First I kept bees in a school, I had a Lab., Bunsen burners - smoker lit in a "flash". I now keep my bees at the back of a greenhouse - so shelter to start up the smoker easily. I now have the opportunity to develop an out apiary in a field. I have had no experience of lighting the smoker in such an open situation and would appreciate advice.

I can't say I've had too much problem just using a match, to be honest! ;)

I used to have (and plan to buy again), a candle lighter device - it is basically just a normal lighter that is on the end of a long stick - so I can keep 4" away from the flames... which is just as well - with leather gloves on - I seem to manage to almost set fire to myself quite frequently! :willy_nilly:

Many thanks for the above advice.

Does a blow torch not get blown out in the open?

Long stemmed lighter works well light the smoker fuel in the smoker which keeps the wind out

Does a blow torch not get blown out in the open?

It should take nothing short of a hurricane to blow out a proper blow torch!

Granted - if you have a few hives - I know several people who carry portable blow-torches around and light their smokers with them - as they're quick and easy, and are useful for flaming hives, where necessary.

Long stemmed lighter works well light the smoker fuel in the smoker which keeps the wind out

I use one of these and it works well, usually.

no probs using blowtorch in open PLUS you need one anyway for hive sterilisation duties (as mentioned by someone else).