How much time will I spend beekeeping?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hailtryfan

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hello everyone.

How much time am I likely to spend beekeeping weekly if I have one or two hives?

I'm a complete novice with no beekeeping experience whatsoever but have recently been thinking of setting up one or two hives. I've been reading lots about the subject and am planning on going on a short course to get some practical experience.

My big concern is time. I'm a science teacher so am usually pretty busy in the evenings and time at the weekends is limited, especially as I'm keen on gardening and rock climbing. Hopefully beekeeping can be fun and relaxing rather than an additional stress.

Get your school to have some bees then you can look after them in thier time...

If you are thinking you dont have much time why think of getting bees. They are not something you can just fit in whenever you have half hour to spare. Not having a go but you sound as if you have a very busy life as it is. It can be very relaxing and very stress full as well.

Welcome aboard hailtryfan,

IMHO as a minimum, April to July 1hr a week should do it for hive inspections, August & Sept 1hr a fortnight again for feeding and inspections. However you will need to set further time aside for extracting and bottling your honey as well as equipment maintenance.

Bear in mind though once you have your head inside a hive time seems to slip past and other issues can pale into insignificance.