Greetings from the land of Dragons

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dafyddcoch

New Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
HI All. I've decided to join this throng of beekeepers as I'm a complete novice but helping my 22 yr-old son to become a bee-keeper. We have a smallholding in the mountains of North Wales and tons of heather on the mountain and as I have no sheep, (smelly destructive creatures) I have a wide variety of flowers as well as many willow, hawthorn trees etc. so hopefully, they'll be happy.

No bees yet but the hive is assembled (a Hobee one), the area windproofed so we're ready to receive my son's bees, hopefully this week (Welsh Blacks)..

I am usually the sort of chap that will blunder through when learning a new skill and strongly believe that most of my skills are very transferable. However, it seems that no previous experiences have given me any useful skills relating to beekeeping at all. I'm going to be asking some very daft questions so be patient with me please.

Thanks/Diolch

Welcome. Have a good look round the forum. It's full of bright and not so bright info. Post your questions in the beginners section

Welcome, we all start our beekeeping journey with very little real understanding of the craft but there's a really good book 'The Haynes Manual of Beekeeping' which will get you through the first couple of seasons with the basics, if you don't already have it then it's a good starter book to have to hand.

When it all becomes too much and it's not in the books - this forum is a mine of information and there's always someone around to answer questions - no matter how daft they are. The Beginners Section is a soft playground and you can safely ask anything there without any fear of worrying what the question is like !