Absolute beginners

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Heather

Queen Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
There is a Tuition day, April 18th 2015, covering all that you need to know in the first 2 years of beekeeping. Live in Sussex and interested? - pm me. £50 (£10 discount for B&L members)

Hi Heather,
Just a thought. One day courses are all well and good, but they are not a quick fix.
Please could the instructor tell all his pupils to go home and learn it after the talk, in not so many words, as most people will not be able to retain all that information in my experience. How many people has the forum told to go on a beginners course only to be told that the person in question already has been on one.

This was my first year, i cant see how a course can tell you all you need to know for your first 2 years in one day, in fact i wouldnt bother, i would read as many books as you can, go to club meets & other courses as you need them, a course like that may teach you a lot in a day but a lot of it will go in one ear. & out the other. I read ted hoopers book, guide to bees & honey, right through 3 times when i started, i am still learning new things from that book. I would maybe do that course after your first year when it will sink in more. Sometimes people forget how much there is to take in for a beginner.

Last edited:
If it includes a copy of the haynes bee manual and an instruction to sign up to this forum then it's probably very useful! :)

There is a Tuition day, April 18th 2015, covering all that you need to know in the first 2 years of beekeeping. Live in Sussex and interested? - pm me. £50 (£10 discount for B&L members)

Scam?