Urban beekeeping - your thoughts?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

saaarawr

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
What do you all think of inner city, rooftop or densely populated bee-keeping? Do you think it hinders bee health or is it promoting a better environment?

I spoke to a rural bee-keeper today who wasn't convinced that the general public could be sway round to accepting bee's 'next door' so to speak.

Do you think urban bee-keeping is a good idea?

I am coming at this from a very novice (I am a student) point of view. I have heard many differing opinions on where people thing bees should be, and how bees should be approached.

Do you think the hives for urban areas should be different than to rural? On rooves/walls etc?

I have kept bees at home for 3 years now. I moved them from inside my garden to a piece of my land alongside a shared drive. There were no issues until people could see the bees then there were complaints to the Environmental health dept at the council. I just built a 6ft fence to force the bees up and hide them from view and there it hasnt been an issue since. Being urban and on the cusp of the countryside but it being grazing land I dont get the huge flow of osr in the spring but then all my honey is summer stylee.

I suggest that you keep your hives out of sight if you want to keep them at home, out of sight out of mind.