shook swarm bees into TBH

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rickyd20

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Number of Hives
I am going to start a TBH this year, and was considering doing a shook swarm to start the hive.
I have never done this before, but every source I have found has stated that the two hives must be swapped so the field bees use the new hive.
The problem with this is that I would rather the TBH was situated elsewhere. I just wanted to check that it would be Ok to just shake extra bees into the new hive to make up for bees flying back to the original hive.
I have 4 hives already so I guess I could shake a few frames from each? I heard that if you shake bees from three hives or more, they will not fight with each other.

Would this work, or would it be better to just transfer comb over? I understand there is a risk of them absconding.

Thanks

Yes it will work fine. Just make sure you don't shake in any additional queens. If you nail some excluder over the entrance it will stop any chance of absconding - just remember to remove it after about a week to let any drones get out and stop it knocking pollen loads off. Also remember to feed plenty of syrup - shaken bees won't have had the chance to fill up like a natural swarm would.

Shook swarm would work ok - or alternatively you could chequer-board several TBH top-bars between your existing frames, and then do a 50/50 split when those top bars have been drawn out and filled with larva. That way you avoid any prospect of absconding, plus give the girls an opportunity to make their own new queen 'on site' - unless you have other plans for providing a queen, of course. :)

If you were to do adopt this method, you'd need to make a rim to fit under the crown board to accomodate the height of the thicker TBH top-bars.