Possible Queenless Hive

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gwt_uk

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello all - I am in my second year of beekeeping and currently have 3 colonies.
2 of the colonies are doing well but the third may have run into trouble. I was late in inspecting due to the lockdown.

The problem hive is on a double brood - The top box is jam packed full of honey and pollen and the bottom box is completely empty although it looks as though all the cells have been polished. There are no eggs, no larvae and no brood of any kind. it has a very strong population (much larger than my other colonies) and they were a bit defensive when I inspected.

I have taken a frame of eggs, larvae and capped brood from another colony and will see if they produce queen cells. I am thinking the Queen may have died.

An experienced beekeeper has suggested inspecting after 7 days but I may not be able to get over there for a fortnight.

I had a problem last year with laying workers so know what to look for from that perspective.

Does anyone else have any suggestions/ideas about a course of action?

Thanks in advance for your help.

If you are not going to get over there for 14 days you will have to leave them to it.
Giving them a frame of young brood will at least give them a chance to make a new queen and if they have one already they will simply cap what you have put in.
A frame of brood often jolts a new queen into lay as well.

Thanks - Appreciate your help. If there is a Queen and she the does start laying will she lay in the bottom box (its full of drawn comb) as well as the top box? I have read that bees usually store honey up the way - is it the same with a queen laying eggs or will she lay below as well?