OSR Spraying

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

malx

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
I've managed to find a spot in the middle of a huge OSR field and have asked the farmer to let me know before he sprays the crop. As this is my first year with my colonies at this location i'm a bit unsure what to do when he sprays.

I was under the impression that i could block up the entrances early in the morning/night before and once he's stopped spraying i can unblock them at the end of the day.

Would that be sufficient or would it be better just to pack up and leave the site?
If i can leave them blocked up what would be the maximum time to do so?

I'd rather ask a stupid question now that lose all my bees :(

Any advice, gratefully received.

Not all sprays are dangerous to the bees. Fertilizers for instance.

Congrats by the way on finding an OSR site.

Latterly I gave up on shutting in and as far as I could see it made no odds.

I would though have a chat with your man and find out what his intended program is and how he will inform you if he lets loose. Bear in mind he may be using a contractor and the timing in that case may well be out of his hands.

Remember though you are a guest on his land so gently gently. :)

PH

If he sprays for pollen beetle might be worth shutting them in; or ask farmer if possible he could spray early in the day before they are flying - but as PH says may be out of his control.

He's not likely to be spraying for pollen beetle now (check here https://cereals.ahdb.org.uk/media/1...-control-of-pollen-beetle-in-oilseed-rape.pdf for why).