Northern newbee :)

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Hello from the eastern shore of Prince Edward Island (PEI) in Atlantic Canada. I'm fairly new to beekeeping (and entirely new to this forum). My interest in bee-keeping started when I apprenticed informally with my ex-father-in-law who had a small apiary (5-12 hives, depending on the year). I got my own hive in 2021 and, although it seemed strong going into the winter, I lost it. Almost gave up right there and then, but talked to a few other beeks who said the survival rate on PEI that winter was only about 50%, so I lost the coin-flip. That'll teach me to have only one hive! I got back on the horse this year with two hives (all I could afford at the moment) and put them into the winter seeming healthy and strong (wish me luck this time!).

I'm particularly interested in hearing from other beeks in northern climates, on windy shores (we have zero protection from south winds which come right off the sea, but I do have a little grove of trees on the north side of the hives and I've set up a small windbreak to the east, south, and west). Also, anyone who is using small cells or foundationless.

Also, if any of you are visiting Prince Edward Island, do drop in! :)