Normal for this time of year?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loving_allsorts

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
This is my first year and due to inexperience I had trouble getting the feeding started in September. I wasted about 8kg of sugar and about two weeks of the month by feeding them solutions which crystallises. By mid September I had mastered the technique and was making good thick (but not too thick that the feeder wasn't working) syrup. They wolfed it down. The brood box is quite heavy and thank goodness for the excellent start to October as I was able to continue to feed. Today I hefted the brood box and it is HEAVY!. I had a quick peek inside and all but one frame is full of stores! Good Stuff! So I stuck a nice layer of 'green' insulation in the roof being careful not to block the vent hole and shut them up for the winter removing the feeder and all super boxes.

HOWEVER

I am surprised to see that while I was working the bees were REALLY busy, their pollen sacks were absolutely loaded with a vibrant orange pollen. I mean REALLY full; and about 25% of the bees were coming in with this.

Is this normal for this time of year? When I went up, after the few cold days we had this week I was expecting them to be pretty dormant. Any idea of what the pollen was because I was surprised at the quantity.

If it helps I have them on an allotment in the middle of a housing estate in Stafford, about 1/2 mile from the edge of town and countryside.

Many thanks

Mark

Likely ivy and, yes, as much as they can store. They may well still be using coiuos amounts for rearing brood. Might depend on several things - weather, forage, strain of bee for some. Some of mine were busy even in the light rain yesterday. Temperatures were not that good either, but obviously OK for the bees!