nail gun for making frames

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

irishguy

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
2 over wintered nucs
Which one do you have and would recommend. I have a passload nail gun for stud and roof work but think I'll need to downsize to make these frames, I know one thing, I won't be nailing with a hammer and nails again this year nailing 100 frames so gona get a small nailer but thought I'd ask on here first for recommendations.

be careful, I used my nail gun and put one straight through the frame and into my thumb

be careful, I used my nail gun and put one straight through the frame and into my thumb

I wouldn't worry to much about that, sure I've 2 of them thumbs lol. I work in construction and my hands are already cut off me so I know what your saying:(

The tacwise electric nailer is a bit under powered and leaves the head exposed so I use a Sip 2-in-1 nailer/stapler which is air-powered (I use a 3hp 50 ltr SWP Zephyr compressor)

Would really prefare an electric one TBH.

I use the lidl electric nailer.put a couple of thousand frames together with it and it's great for the job

I use a handraulic brad nailer as well as an Arrow T200(?) and a l*dl pneumatic. All work fine, particuarly in combination (for different sized nails).

However, I see your profile now says ''2 overwintered nucs''. If that is correct I doubt you are in any hurry for 100 new frames at this point in time.

So were your winter losses about 65%? Mine was zilch (so far), without even trying.

I use a handraulic brad nailer as well as an Arrow T200(?) and a l*dl pneumatic. All work fine, particuarly in combination (for different sized nails).

However, I see your profile now says ''2 overwintered nucs''. If that is correct I doubt you are in any hurry for 100 new frames at this point in time.