massive amount of varroa

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nematode

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I am a complete beginner to beekeeping and got my first hive two months ago. The mite drop was very small at first but then as the bees began to increase during spring the drop count exploded from only a few to loads. I also began noticing dead bees at the front of the hive about a month ago. Only one or two at first but now it seems to be about five or ten a day now. I wonder if the birds are helping to fool me on this figure?

I did my research and talked to one of the mentors at the local association and acted on his advice. Yesterday I popped a couple of strips of Apistan in and a clean floor tray (varroa floor). I have just pulled the tray out for a count after 24 hours. There were too many to actually count so I took a couple of 10cm x 10cm sections and counted on these. I estimate that the total drop was over two thousand. So I think the good news is that they mite not (sorry) be resistant to treatment.

By the way, thank you to everyone who contributes to this forum. It has been a brilliant resource of knowledge and advice so far. And if the bees pull through, I hope to use the search function in the future*

* for nice things like tips on extracting and recipes.

Hiveclean? Im not sure how effective it will be, but thats what i have been told to use at this time of year if i have a Varroa problem, which i dont! But i do have a 500 ML bottle of hiveclean just in case

Well done for identifying and treating. Some varroa are resistant to apistan but the measures you have taken has helped no-end. Continue the monitoring when the treatment has finished and ensure you use a thymol treatment later int he summer when the supers come off.

Hi Nematode

That sounds like one heck of an infestation.