Making NUCs

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mocko

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi All,

I have a colony that is currently doing very well - it's a national on double brood but there are 8 frames covered in both the top box and the bottom, I'm worried about swarming so would like to make up some nuclei.

Question is, when spiliting the original colony to make a nucleus, is it acceptable for the nucleus to make its own queen through emergency queen cells? Is this common practice or do most buy a new queen?

Thanks

Andy

Hi Andy,
I'm pretty new to this game, but I think the answers in the question, it would be an emergency queen cell, although I'm sure it happens, I would split it another way if possible.

Maybe still a little early for splitting, we've not really had a run of warm weather yet and I haven't seen any drones around yet.

i apologise for hijacking your thread, but mine are being removed at the moment. censorship without reason is shameful.

I'm also interested in splitting and wondering the best way to make/buy a new queen?

Hi All,

I have a colony that is currently doing very well - it's a national on double brood but there are 8 frames covered in both the top box and the bottom, I'm worried about swarming so would like to make up some nuclei.

Question is, when spiliting the original colony to make a nucleus, is it acceptable for the nucleus to make its own queen through emergency queen cells? Is this common practice or do most buy a new queen?

Thanks

Andy

I just attended a whole day delivered by Roger Patterson devoted to this topic. (UEA study day, jolly good it was.)
He spent a long time encouraging raising your own queens by promoting emergency cells. His club apiary seems to do well so this works for him.