Lime Tree Question?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bee-Key-Pur

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
1+
I have been offered an out apiary on a farm that has a half mile long drive through an avenue of lime trees.
I have no experience of lime honey, so my question is, does it present any problems honey production wise?

Can be fickle. Can be profuse. I well remember seeing an apiary of forty Langstroths with three full supers on each. Stuffed to the brim they were.

As for the honey it handles normally.

PH

Thankyou PH, sounds like it will be worth a go. Do you know at what time of the year they give up pollen and nectar?

Last edited:
I understand its around the end of June (in a normal year!). I'm in a similar position and am keen to see what this honey is like. It is highly regarded in Europe. Hope you get a good crop.

The Lime usually flowers in the first two week of July in our area. The colour is very light but is quite tasty and a lot of people seem to like the flavour. It can be a bit fickle and some years you might not get honey from it

Lime honey is one of the best, with a gorgeous delicate flavour and very light, almost greenish in colour. Here in north Wales it flowers mid July, when blackberry is also in flower. It doesn't yield a crop of honey every year, but in a good lime year like 2011 you can get several supers per hive. It extracts easily, and it's good for drawing out foundation. You should do well!

Tastes really good; strong, tangy citrus flavour. Tends to flower in June here, but needs warm weather to yield well.
Adrian

go for it!....better than being in the middle of a rapeseed farm