honey flavouring recipes

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hedgerow pete

Queen Bee
Reaction score
UK, Birmingham, Sandwell. Pork scratching Bandit c
Hive Type
National
i have been suffering the net tonight after we have finialy rebuilt the main house computer, ( dont ask)

does anyone apart from poly hive , i all ready know he does.

does any one else flavour there honey.

I was thinking lavender honey( honey with added lavender flowers)

honey with lemon balm leafs to give lemon honey

or how about honey with lemon zest
or honey and elderberries
or honey and black currants whole in the jars

i am not talking adding E numbers etc, just what is the concensus on additives to the honey jars to bump up the prices

looooooooool to bump up the prices

more dosh hey Pete dat lovley juppley stuff

I'm no expert but I would think you would need to be careful when adding soft fruit, I would have thought that their liquid content would dilute the honey which then might lead to fermentation and other problems. Adding dried fruit might be a possibility, dried cranberries, black currents etc. Dried banana might work.

I would agree with your lemon peel and how about ginger?

yes people , i want to charge SILLY prices this coming year if possible.

just been reading a book manly for farmers about adding value to products to make more dosh. so thats were the idea has come from.

the thing is , i am a little bit hesitant about full blown home made recipes and realy making stuff to sell on. but the ideas of sticking a few lavender flower stems in a jar before filling it with honey or as you so rightly said dried fruit, seams easy enough almost for me.

now where did i leave that 25kg bag of monosodium glutamate:reddevil:

I wonder if you could add some juniper berries - and perhaps just a light dusting of quinine?