Calling 1st Year new bees

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rustic-Crafts

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
I just need your opinion now that you have been beekeeping for a year or more.
As a beginner with some experience would you recommend ....

1. Buying a budget flat pack National hive with frames.
2. Buy a complete beginners kit, suit and all.
3. Buy a flat pack Hive with a 14x12 brood box
4. Build your own from Mr T where you can get 14x12 brood box, manley frames and supers with SN5 frames to mix and match etc.

I don't really want to buy a Ferrari and find I'm scared to got fast but then I don't want a Reliant Robin only after 6 months to wish I had got a car with 4 wheels.

For a newcomer there are a lot of options that can only experience can decide which way to go ..I don't have any experience. bee-smillie

I chose the Bees on a Budget kit. Worked well for me. Bought it as a flat pack, simple enough to assemble. Th**nes had to replace Brood box though as the bars were faulty and I had glued them before realizing they were wrong (well it was my first one!).

You soon end up buying more gear though! One hive is never enough...

Good luck!

For a newcomer there are a lot of options that can only experience can decide which way to go ..I don't have any experience. bee-smillie

Best idea is to join a local association, do a beginners' course, attend apiary events and practical days, make friends with local beekeepers...and at all these you can talk kit. The kit is the easy bit :).

And I run Commercials ;)