British National 11 Frame Hive & 5-6 Frame Nucleus

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Insy

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Commercial
Number of Hives
Only I know :D :D
Hello all,

Im new to this beekeeping thing :D i haven't yet applied for the local bee associations but i have recently purchased the updated Ted Hooper Book on Guide to Bees & Honey plus i have borrowed about 5-6 books from my grandad :D.

I have downloaded and printed many plans ranging from National, Langstroth, WBC and im not much of a woodworker but i love a challenge :D.

My grandad is popping me down some second hand stuff which i will be scrubbing with water and soda crystals aswell as scorching the stuff to steralise them.

I have 2 questions :D

1) I cannot find Construction plans for 5 or 6 frame nucleus hives/boxes anywhere at all, i found langstroth 5 frame nucleus designs will these be ok to build and use if you will be transfering to a national bee hive? If not does anyone know where i could find some british national 5-6 frame nucleus plans?

2) For the 11 Frame British National BeeHive plans on BeeSource how many sheets of exterior grade plywood would i need to make each bee hive excluding the frame, the sheets are sized WBP Exterior Ply 2440x1220x18mm. I know red western cedar is betetr to sued but as im new i just want something i can play aruond with and have fun and aslong as i treat yearly or ever 2 years i should be able to maintain the hive.

Any other advice on building these i would love, i plan on buying a Dovetail Jig for box joints and using a router but i will be doing a far bit of testing :p ill probably test it on mdf haha as thats cheap and i have loads about before i start cutting up my plywood

Thanks
Regards
Ben

Try this chap for plans and cutting sheets (there is a deep national nucleus plan)