Bees on sugar

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rink123

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi All , Are these bees feeding by my hive, Honey bees ? If so will thay move in bee-smillie ,I am feeding them suger . thx

You risk bees from different hives fighting each other for the food.

Stop the sugar water... put in some nice old black drawn brood frames.... a drop of lemon grass oil and pray to your chosen god........

some honey bees may move in that you can heap spoonfuls of sugar and tender loving care upon....

Sherry trifle anyone??

Thx for your fast replys , I have not got no old black drawn brood frames :( I am new to bee keeping sry , where can i get lemon grass oil from pls .thx

Never mind the fighting, it is a good way to get any disease spread around all the local bees. One diseased bee in, ten or more out!

Lemon grass oil? All sorts of places called shops, aromatherapy suppliers, epay. Take your choice.

RAB

Can I ask, do you know how to keep bees?
Been on a course? Helped at an apiary? Read some books.

The tone of your post suggests not.
And if that is the case, you'd be better informed by doing any or preferably all of these before trying to manage some.
You'll be happier and so will the bees.

Your profile says you have no hives, but give a picture of your hive.

As the others above, I assume you are trying to bait bees into an empty hive. Put in sugar and you are declaring free food to any passing bee, who will go back to her hive and tell her mates, who will come and take more sugar - back to their home. None will stay. It's called "robbing"

Old comb and lemon grass oil, as above, are best attractants to bees scouting for a new home. I agree with the suggestion of reading a bit or going on a course or chatting with experienced beekeepers.