Approaching first week…

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andyww

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
<< Admin - Please move to beginners section... >>

Hi,
I am new to bee keeping. I have attended a course throughout the winter and I've now embarked on my own.
Last week my nuc got delivered. I let it settle for a day, then carefully transferred the 5 frames into my brood box.
The general guidance is to leave them alone for a week. I'm trying to do this although the temptation to open them up is pretty great. That said each night I check the feed and top up.

So as my first proper inspections dawns I’m after some advice please:

1. After a week of hot weather should I expect all the foundation frames to be drawn out?
2. On the frames that have been drawn out what would you expect to be there, stores or brood
3. From experience I know I should be checking for evidence of queen, be looking for eggs for this, then space, laying pattern, disease, stores, queen cells – anything else I should keep a look out for?
4. The front of the hive doesn't seem particular busy – is this normal of a nuc?
5. At which point should I stop feeding?
6. At which point should I should put a second brood box on?
Cheers

Andy.

Last edited:
Don't expect all the foundation to be drawn out yet. Although, at this time of the year i give a nuc the whole box in one go - a lot on here go for a bit of cossetting with just a few frames to draw and the rest dummied up and muffled up with all kinds of insulation.