An alternative to Western Red Cedar?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Surreybeekeeper

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hi all,

With this economic climate the way it is I have been looking at alternatives to the Red Cedar hives. I have heard about Pine hives and also White Cedar hives (slightly cheaper and lighter than Red).

Does anyone know of the positives and negatives of these alternative woods.

Interested in your thoughts.

James

I haven't had a problem with ply as an alternative, the only downside is that it is just a bit heavier.

I have no experience of the woods but as nobody else has really touched on your question you may find the answer by comparing the two woods.

www.connectedlines.com/wood/index.htm"]/http://www.connectedlines.com/wood/index.htm

The above site will give you a good comparison of the properties of each wood.

HTH

Last edited:
I have some old pine hives (creosote so still OK) and they are noticeably heavier than cedar. I have no knowledge of white cedar.

I think you will find that the "optimum" option is to buy cedar seconds from the big suppliers. Big T have a sale on now so you can compare prices.

I think you will find that the "optimum" option is to buy cedar seconds from the big suppliers. Big T have a sale on now so you can compare prices.

agree with the sale suggestion but T'ornes online sale finished yesterday. Paynes is due to start on (I think) the 26th of this month.

I have some old pine hives (creosote so still OK) and they are noticeably heavier than cedar. I have no knowledge of white cedar.

As I said I don't have knowledge of White Cedar but I think you will find it is slightly lighter than Red Cedar 21- 22lbs/cu ft as opposed to 23lbs/cu ft.

So for practical purposes the same for a finished article.

Pine works very well and to make it cheaper...