Thymol here, thymol there (and Apiguard)

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Strength_10

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello,
I'm trying to plan my autumn feeding and treatments (I'm a newbie so this is my first 'end of season' experience).

I've bought some Apiguard which I was planning on using before feeding. I had already bought that before I found this site. Since then I have read lots of posts on the use of Thymol (including Hivemaker's recipes).

http://www.beekeepingforum.co.uk/showpost.php?p=49691&postcount=44
(Emulsified Thymol mix to add to autumn syrup)

http://www.beekeepingforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1840
(Thymol mix to apply to oasis within hive)

My question is should I use just the apiguard? Should I also use the Thymol mix on the oasis? (though I assume this is in fact a home made version of the apiguard so I should probably use up the apiguard first since I've already bought it).

Secondly, even if I use Apiguard, should I then feed thymolated syrup or is that overkill?

Does anyone use Apiguard and Thymolated syrup together in Autumn?

Many thanks in advance,
Cameron

AS you have bought the Apiguard I would use it as next year it may be out of date.

Well thymol in the mix as well is overkill but someone will be along shortly with another viewpoint.

AS you have bought the Apiguard I would use it as next year it may be out of date.

Well thymol in the mix as well is overkill but someone will be along shortly with another viewpoint.

Will apiguard prevent syrup from fermenting or help prevent/control nosema?

So Hivemaker, would you recommend Apiguard and Thymolated syrup or just one or the other. It doesn't matter which as I have the apiguard bought but also already have thymol crystals, isopropyl alcohol and lecithin granules sitting in the garage.