Varroa and how to proceed??

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SuffolkPaul

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hello all

So i put a white board above my OMF and checked it 24hrs later to do a summer Varroa Monitoring session. Now feeling very depressed. This is my first attempt at monitoring, being only 4.5 months into the wonderful world of Bee keeping.

How ever and few points i need help with.

1/ I have a Bee Gym ( http://www.beegym.co.uk/ ), i'm dubious if it works but no harm done for being gulible and losing £15.00 BUT if it does work should i not have removed the device becasue if my girls are cleaning themselves over and above the "norm" I will not be recording and tabulating a "natural mite drop". worst case is my girls are doing well grooming and then im going to blitz them with a treatment!

2/ It's hard counting mites in an area of 400mm x 400m (Est. 14x12 National BB). I took 6 photos of the board then assessed them, but it would be great if someone could have a look at my pictures and advise if i have assessed the drop well or not?

Last edited:
Just looked at the beegym website and all I can say is I am glad he believes in his product.
Publishing data from 2 hives with 2 control hives I suspect he will be struggling for it to be statistically significant. The sharp increase in drop post application just happens to coincide with warmer weather April/May more brood more mites. Hmmmmm.

I would do a sugar roll or better still sacrifice some bees and do an alcohol wash. Others on here have suggested natural drop is not an accurate marker of varroa population

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Sorry. Can't see pictures.
24 hours is not long enough unless you are doing an accelerated drop.
This is easy. Vape and measure mites dropping in 24 hours.
20 is my cut off point