New member from France

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Number of Hives
Hi all. I’m not actually new here as I’ve been lurking and reading messages for a while now. I’m a complete novice but I’ve been fascinated with bees since I was very young. Now recently retired and considering starting beekeeping but so much to learn! My son bought me a Vevor hive ( VEVOR Bee Hive | VEVOR UK) for Christmas and that might be enough to kick start me into finding a course etc. I’m English but have lived in France for nearly 20 years on and off. 3 initial questions that come to mind -
1. Any experience, advice on the Vevor hive? Good, bad, burn it! Etc. Lol
2. I have a long narrow garden c. 90 metres long and 7 metres wide with neighbours on all sides. If I put up 2 metre high boundary fences around the bottom end of the garden say and area of 7 metres x 10 metres, with the hive facing the house, will that be enough to ensure I don’t cause a nuisance to my neighbours? Or should I be looking for an offsite location?
3. Keen to get onto a good practical training course. My French is good but I’d prefer to do a course in English so south coast/kent would work. Any recommendations gratefully received.

Also keen to connect with any beekeepers in nord / pas de Calais. I live just outside Lille.

If I put up 2 metre high boundary fences around the bottom end of the garden say and area of 7 metres x 10 metres, with the hive facing the house, will that be enough to ensure I don’t cause a nuisance to my neighbours? Or should I be looking for an offsite location?
It definitely won't ensure no nuisance, but it will help. Our code here specifies three metres from the boundary. Tetchiness is generally increased with inspections, queenlessness and the list goes on...