First time mite drop count

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

megadyptes

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
I put a board under the OMF of my hive last week and left it in there for 7 days given I was out of they country. What with it being a new hive that's expanding from a swarm nuc and me being a newbie, I thought it was a good opportunity to just see what the mite drop might be like. I think I've spotted ~40 mites in amongst the debris on the board, which works out at as a fraction under 6 mites/day.

I didn't find the charts in the DEFRA booklet that obvious to interpret, so what are people's thoughts on this interpretation...

The count suggests a low level of infection that doesn't require an immediate treatment, but that something will be required before the winter in order to try and reduce the levels.

In with the beginners kit was an apiguard treatment, so I guess i can use this at some point in the future.

the general rule is to consider treatment when the drop is 10 mites per day or more.

With a current average of 6 per day and a normal mite population that doubles every month then that would suggest you'd anticipate going over that level in the next month or two.
but do monitor regularly, mite drops are notoriously erratic.

Last edited:
And how do you define 'regularly' - once a week, once a month, once a quarter, once a year, once in a blue moon?

Do you have any supers on?

With the sort of drop you have there I would use the apiguard in mid-August time, but remove any honey for extraction first.

I recently added one super, but they're only just beginning to draw it out. The nuc only got transferred into the hive a month or so ago so I wasn't expecting a harvest this year. Mind you, if they really go for it in the next month then I just have to pinch a frame of two.