Can anyone name this piece of anatomy

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
I am studying for the BBKA module 7 exam. Past papers produce the attached drawing and ask for the candidate to identify the parts of the reproductive system of the queen bee marked 'U'
The drawing is taken from a copy of Snodgrass but my copy and booklet does not identify it.
I have spent many hours trying to identify it online but all I have been able to do is eliminate other glands etc.
Today I did find a drawing with it indicated 'P' but this is not from my copy of Snodgrass. Can anyone please help? I am beginning to suspect that the examiner has read an obscure book and is testing us!!!

Attachments

• UNKNOWN GLAND.pdf
    299.3 KB · Views: 101
Last edited:
I googled it and found this if its any good too you.

Dufour's gland pheromone

The Dufour's gland (named after the French naturalist Léon Jean Marie Dufour) opens into the dorsal vaginal wall. Dufour’s gland and its secretion have been somewhat of a mystery. The gland secretes its alkaline products into the vaginal cavity, and it has been assumed to be deposited on the eggs as they are laid. Indeed, Dufour’s secretions allow worker bees to distinguish between eggs laid by the queen, which are attractive, and those laid by workers. The complex of as many as 24 chemicals differs between workers in "queenright" colonies and workers of queenless colonies. In the latter, the workers’ Dufour secretions are similar to those of a healthy queen. The secretions of workers in queenright colonies are long-chain alkanes with odd numbers of carbon atoms, but those of egg-laying queens and egg-laying workers of queenless colonies also include long chain esters.[7]