Queen stopped laying

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

digitalangel78

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting. My husband and I are in our second year of beekeeping.

We have discovered that in one of our hives, the queen has stopped laying. The bees overall look very healthy, there are plenty of them and they have ample stores. The queen is from late 2009 and we were planning to replace her in the spring. But, now it appears we may be too late as over the last few weeks we have seen no new brood, even though she has room to lay. Even the warm weather has not encouraged her to lay.

So, I'm not sure what we can do, as there aren't any drones about for mating a new queen. Will they survive the winter until we can get a new queen mated? Or should we try to unite with another hive?

Thanks.

Queens do stop laying at this time of the year - one of mine (August 2011 emergent) stopped laying a few weeks ago - she may just be shutting up shop for the winter. Don't panic, just feed them if they haven't plenty of stores and keep an eye on the colony until spring

Thank you for your quick response.

I did think that it was possible, especially as they have glued everything up with propolis. But I thought the queen only stops laying for a month or two in the winter?

Welcome to the forum. Long time a member but your first post today.

as over the last few weeks we have seen no new brood

You need to be a bit more informative about this.

What is a few?

When did the last capped brood emerge?

What varroa treatment have you been applying? When did it start and when did it finish?

Likely no bother but not a lot to go on.

Re: uniting with another colony; do you have that option? How strong are these colonies? There should be no problem with uniting colonies at the present time.