Heather Flow

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnRoss

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi All, Just to let those of you who are interested know that I observed lots of Bees on the heather today. All on the bell heather, not working the ling yet. During inspection there is starting to be some weight on the bottom supper so added a second. Today was 20deg at the heather site following two days of heavy rain. Ideal flow conditions! Bees were mad as hell though.

Good to hear John. Just left a hive up the Mournes on Saturday for the first time to see how it goes. How long do you leave them there for approx.?

I'm hoping to get the timing right for the ling heather this year, got not a drop last year haha!

HI Benagh,
I'm not sure, this is my first year going to the heather, I brought them up around the 15th of July. I plan to bring them back sometime around the first week in September weather dependent.

Ling here has yet to flower but not too far away by the looks of things.

Driving over from Maerdy to Aberdare this afternoon, Bell and Ling in flower with plenty more to come. Give it another two weeks for the Willowherb to finish, I wouldn't mind finding a nice, secure little site up there.

I'd love to take a colony somewhere for heather, but as a newcomer I haven't a clue where to look. Must try harder for next year.

Very busy on the ling now, drawing out whole supers of foundation and filling the new combs rapidly, ready drawn combs filling even faster of course.