Why put supers on top?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lebouche

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi,
I was just wondering, if heat rises why do bees move the honey to the top of the nest rather than brood which needs to be kept warm? If it could overheat in the summer surely they could move it down?
Also why don't we always just move supers underneath and in this way keep the hive warm? I guess it is because they always move stores upwards…?

Some people do place the supers under the broods. I think the general way to do it is to block off the entrance at the mesh floor and then create an entrance just above the queen excluder but I don't see why it would not work with a bottom and top entrance during busy times. I have been saying for a few years now I am going to give it a go but never quite getting round to it.

Place three supers under the broods at the start of the season and then no lifting of supers to inspect the brood sounds ever so simple but somehow I think there must be more to it and the only way to find out is give it a try.

It's more the way the bees do it, they have a nice arc of stores around the top of the frame that extends upwards, I don't see the same on the. Bottom of the frame.

The test would be a stack of boxes and run a swarm in and watch them over a full season. I would think that in a wild situation the bees would move the brood nest within the confines of the space they have to work with to best meet their needs.

In the recent tree nest that I removed when it blew down in the gales the brood was at least half way, maybe 2/3rds down the length of comb seen in the pictures on the 'victims of the storm' thread.