May interest some - word prediction etc

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nelletap

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
2 - and a promising bait hive
There has been some chat about spelling on this forum and some of it perhaps a little lacking in sympathy. I moderate an online group myself and on the whole leave the posters words as long as they don't mislead. In lots of practical tasks a skill with words is secondary to the main activity and perhaps those who do rather than write about have some great knowledge to pass on to me! Of course some can do both.
As a teacher I sort of fell into helping what my Mum called lame ducks - those who for some reason needed a little more help. In doing so I discovered some software called WordQ and SpeakQ which offer a suite of writing aids. They can predict text (and they refine their forecasts over time - ie they get to know the user). They work anywhere with editable text - so I am using it for this post but can use it for emails, word processing or almost anywhere. They can read out the words you have written or text from anywhere - such as on a web page, from a pdf document - if the text can be selected you can ask it to read out the lot or a selected portion and you can choose a voice. It also does speech to text better than any other software I know - and - important for people such as dyslexics - as it says the words for you to repeat in the 'training' phase you don't have to be able to read to use it. I have used it at exhibitions with lots of background noise and let people use it without having completed the training and it works well. The publishers have been in touch with me because they noticed I use it and I have been surprised at the diverse roles of adults who rely on it and say they really could not do their job without it. The predicted words are