Apitherapy

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richardbees

Queen Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I received this email yesterday:

...."My name is xxxxxxx and I'm currently studying in London. I'm writing to you because I'm in the need for (a few) bees and I found you on the UrbanBees website. I have an immune disorder called Alopecia Areata -which has no cure so far- and one month ago I started an alternative therapy based on bee venom (also called apitherapy) in Chile, but here in London it has been impossible to find an apitherapist to continue the treatment. I've been trained to sting myself with bees but I don't have bees. That's why I'm writing to you.
I'm currently using 5 bees a week, and I'm willing to pay for them if necessary. I'm aware that you have bees for a very different reason to mine but I also like them. I even came up with a method for stinging myself without killing the bees, so I could give them back to you every time I use them. I wouldn't ask you this favor but so far the therapy seems to be working and I wouldn't like to stop the treatment".....

For no other reason than being intrigued by his "patent non lethal bee-friendly stinging technique" I replied and he's coming to my apiary at the w/e. Any comments on the legitimacy of this?

Last edited:
I came across a YouTube vid of some talk show in the states and they had a guy on there that used bee to administer a sting to his elbow joint if I remember correctly. He did live on the show. Dead bees after though so I myself would like to see how he does it without them dying.

Be careful it's not some scam though, call me untrusting if you like.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGGgr-OJRZk[/ame]