Nosema treatment nessecary?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thenovice

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Aim for 4 but tend to end with 15
after a couple of weeks I decided to go and check on my bee hives and feed the light colony some fondant and put a home made perspex cover on before I leave on holidays. despite the dark, they came boiling out as soon as I started to remove the woodpecker protection. it was mild yesterday night, around 12C but I did not expect them to be so feisty. treated to 2 stings only...

worryingly, the grass in front of both hives was full of moribund and dead bees. As this is my first year of beekeeping, I have no idea what a normal winter die off looks like but this seems a bit excessive. I am talking between 100 to 200 bees per hive here. I treated with thymolated syrup as a measure against nosema in september. Is there anything that can/should be done now against this mid winter to ensure I have a colony left to requeen in spring?

Ps: Nessecary = Necessary

Last edited:
Relax.
Trim the grass if it is long.
If you can, ensure that they have a safe, shallow, sun-warmed water source that they can locate easily.

Water foraging (including from rain and dew on grass) in cool weather is one of the most dangerous activities for the bees. They get chilled and can't fly, so they die. Making it easier and safer makes for fewer bees dying in the effort to get water.
One reason for needing water is to deal with crystallised stores.
Once the weather is properly cold, there should be some condensation on the coldest part of the hive, which allows the bees to (fairly) safely recycle that water. (Condensation in the right place is a benefit, not a problem.) Until then, its a matter of them collecting up rainwater, which is hazardous for the foragers.